DVF’s New Spring Ad Campaign: Faceless Model

 

Diane von furstenberg fashion designer

“I like that you can see yourself in these images, this time for me is all about new beginnings,” says Diane Von Furstenberg as she comments on her recent Spring/Summer 2012 Ad campaign. The Ad features a model sitting in a dry desert, wearing a bright floral wrap dress and white clutch. Wait a minute though, the model actually has no face? Yes you read that correctly, DVF chose a more surreal approach to her new collection by leaving a cut out circle that mirrors a clear blue sky instead of the model’s face.

Why you ask? Well maybe its DVF’s way of having women connect more to her collection, and be able to picture themselves rather than some random model (I personally like it!) This ad’s tag line “Be The Woman You Want To Be…”, seems to work well with a mirror covered face as it becomes clearer how DVF would want women to see themselves, wearing her dress, in the image. Or Maybe she is trying to break out of the fashion norms? Nobody really knows for sure, but what is certain is that her ads are inspired by the surrealists, whose work typically features elements of surprise.

Do you think it works? Would you like to see more Ads like this? Tell us what you think.

This entry was posted in Fashion Scoop and tagged , , , by AmOoNa. Bookmark the permalink.

About AmOoNa

By no means do I ever try to pretend I know all there is about fashion, but isn’t that the beauty of it? Inspirations come to me daily, from people, colors, moods, photography, even children! As Coco Chanel once said “Fashion is everywhere … in the sky…” this is how i choose to live my life. We don’t need to be millionaires, we don’t need to always have the latest and most luxurious brands, but we will always need to feel beautiful. I believe in simplicity even with my most extravagant dress on. Less is sometimes more in my fashion eye. I love funky, I love colors, I love elegance, and I love class. Fashion is not something I do, it has become a part of who I am. This is me, and my life in the fashion lane…

Leave a Reply

