Trend Scoop | The Denim Vest

 

 

 

I love the combination of feminine dresses mixed with edgy toppers.  Jessica Alba pulls this off perfectly!  Her fun and flirty maxi dress is greatly paired with a light wash denim vest. This look also works with your favorite maxi skirt, tank, and even with a denim on denim look if you’re feeling bold.

If a longer vests make you feel too “boxy” try a cropped version for a more flattering look! The shorter vest helps to accentuate your figure by showing off your curves.And one of our favorite things about the denim vest…it’s virtually season-less! When temperatures start to drop, it can easily be layered over long sleeve shirts, lightweight sweaters, and colored bottoms….the perfect transition piece into Fall.

Whether cropped or long, light or acid wash, Summer or Fall, this vest is sure to spice up any outfit at a great price.

DENIM VEST TIPS:

  • Look for a fitted and cropped shape. The most flattering vests I’ve seen hit a few inches below your natural waist. A too-short vest looks childish and too long and baggy is an untrendy 90′s flashback.
  • Medium and light washes are best. A dark wash vest can work, but they are much harder to style.
  • A denim vest is the perfect match for your favorite patterned piece. A nice, faded denim breaks up the print and prevents your look from getting too “busy” looking. Patterns work well with denim, whether they’re florals, or stripes

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Look of the Day and tagged , , , , , , , by AmOoNa. Bookmark the permalink.

About AmOoNa

By no means do I ever try to pretend I know all there is about fashion, but isn’t that the beauty of it? Inspirations come to me daily, from people, colors, moods, photography, even children! As Coco Chanel once said “Fashion is everywhere … in the sky…” this is how i choose to live my life. We don’t need to be millionaires, we don’t need to always have the latest and most luxurious brands, but we will always need to feel beautiful. I believe in simplicity even with my most extravagant dress on. Less is sometimes more in my fashion eye. I love funky, I love colors, I love elegance, and I love class. Fashion is not something I do, it has become a part of who I am. This is me, and my life in the fashion lane…

Leave a Reply

